Chocolate covered chocolate chip cookie dough bites

I completely blame my friend for my unhealthy ways today. She posted a recipe last night for eggless chocolate chip cookie dough so not only did I have to try it myself, but I also had to add my own little twist. So being the chocoholic I am, I decided to take these bad boys one step further and turn them into chocolate covered chocolate chip cookie dough bites. It should be illegal for food to taste this good.

ingredients

Chocolate chip cookie dough
(will make close to the same as you would get with a real chocolate chip cookie recipe)

– 1cup brown sugar
– 1/2 cup butter, softened
– 1/2 tsp. vanilla
– 1/2 cup milk
– 2 cups flour (to feel better about myself I used whole wheat)
– 1 cup chocolate chips
– my secret ingredient: splash (I mean it, just a drop) of almond extract

directions
1) get out a large bowl and combine the butter and brown sugar.
2) add in vanilla, almond extract and milk and mix well.
3) mix in the flour and choco chips.

20120614-121756.jpg
4) the dough will be a bit gooey and hard to work with so place the bowl in the fridge for awhile and let it chill.
5) once your dough has chilled out and is easier to work with, roll the dough into bite sized balls.

20120614-134411.jpg
6) once all of the dough is gone, set your bite sized cookie bites aside. We will now move onto making the outer chocolate covering.

ingredients

Chocolate Sauce
– 1/4 cup butter
– 1 bag (or 2 cups choco chips)
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 1 can sweetened condensed milk

directions
1) add all of the ingredients to a saucepan.
2) set the burner to medium heat and stir everything together until you get a nice thick chocolate sauce. Immediately Transfer to another bowl so the chocolate doesn’t burn.

20120614-134515.jpg
3) roll your chocolate chip cookie dough bites in the chocolate sauce and place in a container. Once all of the bites are covered in chocolate, chill for about 2 hours.
4) enjoy 🙂

20120614-134541.jpg

15 thoughts on “Chocolate covered chocolate chip cookie dough bites

      • haha yeah i love that they are bite sized. makes it easier to control yourself. brownies are always hard for me because you cut them the size you want them. so the size you want is probably going to be way more than what you should really be eating. at least with these bite sized treats, you can sort of control how many you eat. and they are sweet enough where you don’t need a lot. like i said, one was plenty for me.

  1. Pingback: Virtual Chocolate Chip Cookies for Father’s Day « Kitchenette Finds

  2. Pingback: Single serve chocolate chip muffin…for two | f00dventures

  3. Pingback: Chocolate chip granola bites « f00dventures

  4. Pingback: This is what $120 of groceries looks like: the good, the bad, and the cute? « f00dventures

  5. What a unique idea!! My husband found your choc chip cookie dough bites recipe online and is insisting I make them this weekend =) Thanks for sharing. Once I finish up with my “real job” of baking cakes, I’ll give this a shot. We both enjoy your blog!
    – Shannon @ Crumb Cake Creations

    • thank you so much for reading my blog (and enjoying it) 🙂 i hope you both enjoy the cookie dough bites. they are very sweet and very rich but oh so yummy. and they are a must make if you love chocolate 😉

      by the way, that is so awesome that you get to make cakes for a living. *jealous*

Share your thoughts :)

