Product review: good n natural lemon bar

I don’t remember where I got the coupon for this but regardless, I got a coupon for a free ‘good n natural’ bar. So I mosied on up to my local meijers and found the bars in the pharmacy section with the protein bars and all that jazz. Unfortunately the only flavor available to try was lemon. Not my first choice but when it’s free, you really can’t be picky. I believe the bar would have cost a little over $1 but i cant remember for sure. Here’s the packaging:

20120526-170244.jpg

I was impressed with the ingredients list. Most of them were natural or organic ingredients. Plus the bar had 5 g of fiber which makes it a good source of fiber. Although I’m not much of a calorie counter, I felt at 230 calories, it was a bit high but I guess that’s to be expected when you’re using more nutrient dense ingredients. Here is a picture of the actual bar:

20120526-170448.jpg

As you can see, about half of it is missing (my friend and I shared it). I was only able to eat a few bites. As mentioned, lemon would not have been my first choice. I was hoping for a subtle lemon flavor but what I tasted was not so subtle. If you really like lemon then this bar may be for you. Perhaps the other flavors will be better but personally, I did not care for this bar. Not only that, but lately I’ve preferred making my own snacks. I know not everybody has the time to do that so I thought it might be helpful to do reviews of various products out there for those on the go. For me, this bar didn’t quite do it for me. Also, at 230 calories, I think I would rather just eat an actual meal. But that’s just my opinion. Everybody is entitled to their own opinion.

I do have my own recipe for berry granola bars that I hope to get up within the next few days. It makes quite a few bars and they’re easy to just throw in your purse or lunch bag so you have a nice healthy, homemade snack. So keep an eye out for that recipe over the next few days 🙂

2 thoughts on “Product review: good n natural lemon bar

  1. Pingback: Homemade berry granola bars | f00dventures

  2. Pingback: Berry Crumble and Oat Bars | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

