I speak two languages, English and nutrition

 

It occurred to me last night that understanding the principles behind nutrition and healthy eating is a lot like learning a new language. Reading packages at the store and deciphering whether the product is healthy or not has become second nature to me but many people do not understand how to do it. And I’m not here to criticize. I went to school for this so I was taught how to decipher it all. It’s all about understanding the lingo, nutrition lingo. Like when something says it’s “fat free“, does that really mean it’s fat free? No, not really. That just means that it contains less than 0.5 g of fat. Or when something claims to be high in a particular nutrient, what does that mean? It means that product provides 20% or more of the daily value (DV). Percent daily values are those percentages you see on the right hand side of food labels. They are based on a 2000 calorie diet so if you’re someone like me (5’0″ with a very small appetite, you may have to adjust to meet your own calorie needs).

 

I could sit here all day and type up how to read a food label and what all those food claims mean on packages but why do that when there are all kinds of amazing infographics that will do it for me? So the first I am going to post is how to read a food label. I firmly believe everybody should know how to read a label. Like I said above, the first thing I do when picking up a package of food is turn it over and look at the label. Then I read the ingredients list. So here is a nice infographic about reading food labels:

 

20120524-093528.jpg

 

I apologize if the above graphic is too blurry or too small to read. If it’s a problem, please let me know so I can find a better one to replace it with. Perhaps this?

 

 

 

Just like reading s food label is important, deciphering food claims is also important. So here is another infographic that will explain what they all mean:

 

20120524-093034.jpg

 

One last infographic I want to share with you is that of myplate (the new food pyramid) as well as serving sizes. It is important to understand not only what myplate is but also what constitutes a serving from each food group:

 

20120524-093918.jpg

 

Hopefully the infographics helped explain things. If anybody has any questions or any topics they wish to know more about, feel free to comment. I enjoy sharing my knowledge and the whole reason I got into dietetics (other than to learn more about nutrition) was with the intention of helping others.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “I speak two languages, English and nutrition

  1. Phenomenal infographics! I wish people would take a moment to read these labels. It’s much more than just an indicator of caloric intake and how many grams of fat a serving has (assuming the person is FOLLOWING the serving sizes). I always tell my readers that if they can’t pronounce or define what an ingredient is, more often than not it’s not worth eating.

    Thanks again for sharing 🙂

    • thank you! I can’t take credit for the info graphics, I found them on pinterest and thought they were too good not to share. I agree, learning to read food labels takes time but if you care about your health, it’s something you should invest in learning. I tell people the same thing, if you can’t pronounce the ingredients or if it didn’t come from the earth naturally, you shouldn’t be eating it. I cant say I always follow my own advice but Im trying. It’s fun though trying to come up with new ways to get more natural foods into the diet. I hope people will look back at my recipes and realize it can be done. Or take a gander at cookbooks like ‘the sneaky chef’. One of my faves. Great way to get more fruits and veggies in the diet without even knowing it.

  2. Pingback: I speak nutrition part 2 | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

