Mini Individual Baked Oatmeal Boats

Image\

Aren’t these adorable? That’s not even all of them either. I want to say I got more like 24. The nice thing about these is they can be frozen. I just make sure to pull one out the night before so it’s thawed and ready to eat the next morning. I love eating oats but hate eating oatmeal. I always get on little oatmeal kicks where I start eating oatmeal but sadly they only last a few weeks at most. I just get bored of it. So I love finding new recipes to incorporate oats into my diet on a regular basis. So here is the recipe:

Recipe not mine, adapted from original
Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups applesauce, unsweetened
  • 5 cups, Old Fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 banana, mashed (I just skipped this part because of my fear of banana)
  • 2 3/4 cups milk (I used 2%)
  • 1/4 cup flaxseed meal
  • 6 packets of sweetleaf stevie or 1 1/2 teaspoons stevia powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 3 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Optional toppings: raisins, walnuts, chocolate chips

NOTE: I am not one to use stevia or sugar replacers. Instead, if I don’t want to use white sugar, I often use dates as my “sugar”. I discovered not long ago that dates are quite sweet and will work as a nice sugar substitute plus offer added nutritional benefits like fiber. So in this recipe, I believe I used about a cup of dates instead of the stevia. Just make sure you remove all the pits otherwise your teeth will be in for a rude surprise. When using dates, I just throw them in a food processor before adding them to the recipe.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix eggs, vanilla, applesauce, banana and Stevia (or whatever sugar you are using) together in a bowl.
  3. Add in oats, salt, baking powder, flax and cinnamon and mix well with wet ingredients.
  4. Finally pour in milk and combine.
  5. Spray a 12 and 6 capacity muffin tin with cooking spray or use cupcake liners.
    Pour mixture evenly into muffin tin cups.
  6. If using toppings add them onto the tops of muffins now. If using fresh or frozen fruit, drop it right into the batter.
  7. Bake 30 minutes until a toothpick in center comes out clean. Cool and enjoy or freeze them in gallon freezer bags.

These came out great! As you can see from the picture, I topped half of these with almond slivers and the other half with dried cranberries. I popped them in the freezer and whenever I want one for breakfast, I pull one out the night before. Just beware that these are quite filling. I can only eat half of one in one sitting. And on top of that, that little half keeps me full for a good 3-4 hours which is saying a lot. I typically eat every couple of hours but with these bad boys, I find myself not wanting to eat for quite awhile. But every person is different. I am pretty petite so my stomach is quite small. Just adjust your portion accordingly 🙂

3 thoughts on “Mini Individual Baked Oatmeal Boats

  1. Pingback: Chocolate oatmeal with a twist | f00dventures

  2. Pingback: Power up with breakfast | f00dventures

  3. Pingback: Healthy hair comes from within: foods to eat for healthy hair | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

