BBB: Black Bean Brownies

So straight off I just want to say that being in the dietetics program really changed my life. I met some really amazing people that I still keep in touch with and I was introduced to all sorts of foods. I just want to put it out there that before dietetics, I was an extremely picky eater. Who am I kidding? I’m still pretty picky. I refuse to eat condiments (ketchup, mustard, etc) I find all of them disgusting. If I order a sandwich, chances are it’s going to be just meat and bread which is why I rarely go to subway or any other sandwich shops. It just doesn’t make sense to me to pay $8 for some meat and bread. I’m still learning to accept vegetables into my diet. So being in dietetics introduced me to a lot of new foods like quinoa and ethnic foods (which as it turns out, I love) as well as new and interesting ways to make foods healthier, which is where this recipe comes into play. The dietetics program had a student run organization and we had a lot of healthy snack sales. Black bean brownies often showed up at these sales but for some reason I had never gotten around to eating them or making them myself until now. Maybe it was just the recipe I used but I can’t say they were my favorite “brownie”. Here is the recipe I used:

Ingredients:

  • 1 15oz can of black beans, rinsed well
  • 1 tbsp instant coffee
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 bananas
  • 1/3 cup agave nectar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup oat flour or all purpose GF (I used whole wheat flour and I also added in a cup of oats)
  • few teaspoons flax seed (optional)

So basically you just throw all the ingredients together into a food processor, throw them into the oven (350 degrees F) and bake for about 30 minutes. As mentioned, these weren’t really what I was expecting. BUT I have to warn you that I do not like bananas. They are ok when mixed in with other stuff (like in banana bread) but I refuse to eat them raw. So I tend to avoid recipes that use bananas because I’m always afraid the banana flavor is going to be all I taste. Obviously if I’m making banana bread then the banana flavor is fine. But in brownies, not so much. But I thought I better at least try the recipe out because I don’t want to be on my deathbed one day and say to myself “gee, I wish I had tried that black bean brownie recipe”. I mean I’m glad I tried the recipe but I wasn’t exactly thrilled with the results. I didn’t really feel like they came out like “brownies”. On top of that, all I could taste was the banana. So to me, these came out like chocolatey banana bread. I still ate them because I mean they were still good and all. Plus, they had whole wheat and fiber and the dreaded banana so nutritionally they were pretty good too. Just not what I expected.

You win some, you lose some.

One thought on “BBB: Black Bean Brownies

  1. Pingback: A little sweet, a little spice: Coconut curried chicken | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

