Baked Cauliflower Poppers – healthy french fries

Image

As mentioned in a previous post, I am on a mission to eat more fruits and veggies. Mainly more veggies. Fruit I don’t have much of a problem with. It’s those pesky veggies and finding a tasty way to eat them that doesn’t completely take away all the nutritional benefits. So when my fiance and I went to the store, I just threw a bunch of veggies in our cart and hoped I would find some recipes to use them in. And fortunately, I have found some great recipes. Starting with this one. So simple and easy to make. I was going to put exact measurements but honestly I didn’t measure anything.

*recipe is not mine

here are the ingredients:

  • 2 heads of cauliflower or 1 bag of frozen cauliflower (I believe the bag I bought had about 5 cups worth of cauliflower).
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • flax seed (optional)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. If using frozen cauliflower, you want to make sure to follow the directions and throw it in a microwave for a few minutes so it’s easier to work with. In the meantime, get out a glass container that is appropriate for baking in and line it with some olive oil. You can measure out !/4 cup if you’re really interested in exact measurements but I just used enough to cover the bottom of the container. Sprinkle a tiny bit of salt (and I do mean a tiny bit. 1 tsp of salt is 2400 mg sodium. Current dietary guidelines stress that you should eat less than that a day so if you can do without the salt, then by all means just skip the salt). Sprinkle in some pepper then add in your cauliflower. This wasn’t part of the recipe but I also added in a few sprinkles of flax seed. Flax seed contains the essential fatty acids that your body needs (hence the “essential” part) but does not make on it’s own. They are especially important for growing brains (children come to mind here) but you should make sure to incorporate flax seed or other foods that contain these fatty acids (like eggs and fish) into your diet no matter what your age. Make sure to coat the cauliflower really well. Pop these poppers into the oven for 60 minutes. Every 20 minutes or so make sure to take them out and flip them around. And that’s it. Super simple to make. The more brown they are, the better they taste in my opinion. I am just going to say straight off that I have tried eating cauliflower in the past and never enjoyed it. So I am thrilled that I found a super simple, low calorie, healthy, super tasty way to eat this veggie. Stay tuned for another “popper” type recipe I will be making within the next few days.

One thought on “Baked Cauliflower Poppers – healthy french fries

  1. Pingback: Garden veggie bake | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

