Berry banana basil (free radical) blast smoothie

I thought it would be a good idea to make a smoothie for tomorrow, something I can grab to sip on who,e volunteering at the farmers market. The last few smoothies/fruit related drinks I have made have involved banana, strawberries, peach, and mango. So I thought this time I would branch out a little and do more of a berry based smoothie. The results were amazing.

20120602-184202.jpg

Tell me that wide array of colors isn’t gorgeous. I just had to take a picture.

ingredients
– few leaves Swiss chard (or any other leafy green like spinach. or you can leave this out. However, leafy greens are one of the healthiest foods you can eat and you don’t even taste them when they’re mixed in with other foods)
– few splashes of milk (the amount is up to you. Just depends on how thick or smooth you want your smoothie)
– 1 cup frozen berries (i used blueberries, blackberries, strawberries, and raspberries)
– 1/2 – 3/4 cup cranberries
– 1/2 of an apple
– 2 tbsp chia seeds
– 1/3 cup dates (be sure to remove the pits)
– 1 cup oats
– my secret ingredient: few leaves of basil

Directions
1) throw everything into a food processor and blend blend blend until smooth.
This recipe makes about a quart (4 cups) worth of smoothie.

7 thoughts on “Berry banana basil (free radical) blast smoothie

  1. Kirsten, I’ve never put dates in a smoothie before but now I am intrigued! This one looks so healthy. I just went on a long run and now this is all I want! :)

    • This is definitely one of my more favorite smoothie recipes I’ve made. I really think what makes it is the basil. It really adds that something extra. And the dates add a nice dose of fiber.

  2. What a cool smoothie! I don’t have a regular size food processor – I’d love to have one to make better smoothies! You have awesome recipes!

    • i never had a food processor up until a few years ago recently. my fiance surprised me with one randomly. i never understood the need for having one. now i can’t live without it.

      thank you so much for your comment :) i love hearing that!

Share your thoughts :)

